We've updated our Privacy Policy.
The Sports Fan’s Interactive Toolbox | On the Clock Premium

Award of the prestigious European Golden Shoe for football players

The European Golden Shoe awards the player who scores the most goals in a world football final. In the event of more than one player scoring the same number of goals, the player with more assists will win. If these two factors remain balanced, the European Golden Shoe will be awarded to the player with the least total playing time and the most goals in major tournaments. The European Golden Shoe is awarded to the best and fair players. If you are not sure about this prestigious award, Let’s go with w88 w88coid.com find out soon. And let’s see which players win the gold shoe award the most?

What is the award of the European golden shoe?

The European Golden Boot is an annual football award awarded to the player/ Ph.tinthethao

The European Golden Boot (formerly known as European Golden Boot) is an annual football award awarded to the player who scores the most goals in matches in the league’s top national league system. European rock in a season. The player who scores the most goals will receive a prize (big leagues like England, Germany, Spain… have a bigger coefficient).

The player’s record does not include the number of goals scored in other leagues such as national cup, league cup and European Cup, European Super Cup, Club World Cup Championship (formerly  Intercontinental Cup), as well as not counting the goals that player scored for the national team that season. 

 Since its founding in the 1967-1968 season, the title has its original name in French as Soulier d’Or, later translated into the European Golden Shoe or Boot, in order to award the player who scored the most goals in all of the European leagues that season.

The tournament was first organized by L’Équipe magazine in 1968, and the award usually began to be awarded by European Sports Media from 1995-96. Currently Messi is the current owner of the award after the 6th coronation in the 2018-19 season.

History of the award of the European golden shoe

From 1968 to 1991, the trophy was awarded to the scorer who scored the most goals in any European tournament. This rule does not depend on the severity of the tournament or the number of matches that player plays. During this period Eusébio, Gerd Müller, Dudu Georgescu and Fernando Gomes were the players who received the title twice. 

The trophy was awarded to the scorer who scored the most goals in any European tournament/ Ph.Soha

After a complaint from the Cyprus football association that a player in their league scored 40 goals, (although the official figures of the top two players in that tournament only scored 19 goals), L’Équipe stopped awarding from 1991 to 1996.

Because of the disparity between the qualifications of tournaments leading to inequity (lower level leagues are more likely to score goals than high-level tournaments, such as in Romania, Cyprus) and suspicion of fraud (  as in the case of Romania’s Cămătaru), the player who scored the most goals in the 1990–91 season, Yugoslav Darko Pancev, did not receive the award until 2006.

Since the 1996-97 season, European Sports Media continues to award this title, but with an important addition is the scoring coefficient for each national championship, allowing players in harsh championships to win even if they score fewer goals than a player in the lower league. The scoring system is determined by the ranking of the championship according to the UEFA coefficient, depending on the performance of the clubs in each league in UEFA tournaments during the five seasons.

The number of goals scored in Europe’s top five national leagues according to the coefficient list is multiplied by 2, the number of goals in the tournaments ranked from 6 to 22 times 1.5, and the number of goals in  leagues ranking 22 and below are multiplied by 1. Therefore, the number of goals in the higher divisions will count more points than those in the lower divisions. And the fact has proven that players in high-level championships will have a better chance of winning the Golden Boot, since from 1996 until now, only 2 times the title of Golden Boot does not belong to a well-connected player No.2.

Players who have won the most European gold boots

Many football players have won the most European golden boot/ Ph.90Min


Lionel Messi is the only player to own six European gold boots. Barcelona’s Lionel Messi is the only player to win three consecutive golden boots from 2017 to 2019, the sixth in 2019 and holds the current record with 50 goals scored in the 2011-12 season. Bayern Munich’s Gerd Müller was the first player to win the tournament twice (1969–70 and 1971–72). Lionel Messi receives all 6 golden shoes, of which 6 Messi does not have to share the title with any player.

Starting from the seasons 2009/10, 2011/12, 2012/13. From 2016 to 2019, Messi has this award

Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo is the first player to receive the award four times, once with Manchester United and three times with Real Madrid. Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suárez are the only two players to win gold shoes in two different national championships.

Ronaldo has also won the European Golden Shoe title four times in the seasons of 2007/08, 2010/11, 2013/14 and 2014/15.

Luis Suarez (Liverpool and Barcelona)

Suarez shared the European Golden Boot title in the 2013/14 season with 31 goals with Ronaldo. In the 2015/16 season, Suarez reached a peak in form when scoring 40 goals and won this award.

Francesco Totti (AS Roma)

Totti won the European Golden Shoe title in the 2006/07 season with 26 goals. This is the only time the Prince of Rome has received this prestigious individual title.

Roy Makaay (Deportivo La Coruna)

Dutch striker Roy Makaay won the individual title for the player with the redemption from Europe’s highest goal in the 2002/03 season with 29 goals.

Luca Toni (Fiorentina)

Luca Toni won the European Golden Shoe Season 2005/06 with 31 goals.

The European Golden Shoe Award is one of the most prestigious and sought after by footballers. Hopefully with the above sharing will bring more understanding to you about this award.

comments powered by Disqus